Project 2 – 0 to Turkey in 90 Minutes

When I first saw this project, my eyes rolled up into my head.  Only a man would figure out how to take a frozen turkey and cook it in 90 minutes. Even my youngest daughter, who will often go hungry rather than cook, would never think about doing something like this.  Therefore, when thinking about the project, I immediately set my target audience to men, particularly men who watch car races or like cars.

turkey1

initial sketch for project

turkey2

initial sketch for project

initial sketch for project

initial sketch for project

Although I was suppose to have 20 sketches, I knew what my ‘idea’ was almost immediately and unfortunately, I was so stuck on that one idea I couldn’t think of anything differently.

My audience was going to be the male “Nascar” audience and wanted to also do accessories or ‘tools’ to go along with the project.  My goal was to have everything, from the pot to the roasting pan all geared with the same theme.

 

 

 

logo

Logo

So this is my logo for the “0 to Turkey in 90 Minutes”.  I wanted the “0”‘s to be like wheels and turn the turkey into a car.  I kept the colors masculine to appeal to the male audience.

With this whole theme in mind, I went to Dollar Tree and purchased pot holders, roasting pan, baster, towel and oven mitt.  I bought an apron from Joann’s.  I then created the logo and ironed on those items or used sticker paper on the non-cloth items to show the logo.  I also created a magnet for the refrigerator in a 4 X 6 inch size.  I had my oldest daughter model the apron for the booklet I created.

Here are my following pages I created…

apron and model

apron and model

Merchandise and 'gift box' idea.

Merchandise and ‘gift box’ idea.

Roasting pan, apron, t-shirt

Roasting pan, apron, t-shirt

front of t-shirt design proposed

front of t-shirt design proposed

apron with recipe on the front

apron with recipe on the front

apron with logo

apron with logo

pot holder

pot holder

magnet

magnet

This was a fun project and I enjoyed the whole process, thinking about what I could put the logo on. I had the idea for mouse pads, post cards, business cards and the actual pot to put the items in rather than a box.

Leave a Reply

